South West Regional Group of the Geological Society

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on Wednesday 20th November 2013 at 7.00 pm, The Dolphin Hotel, Bovey Tracey

Present: See list below

1. Welcome and introduction by Alan White (Acting Chair)

2. Presentation of Frederick Sherrell Award 2013

After an introduction, the award was presented to Dr John N. Grimes for his contribution to South West Geology by Alan White. John then gave an illustrated talk.

3. Apologies for absence:

Sarah Boulton Howard Mullet David Kneebone Stuart Oxley Robin Brito David Roche Richard Gould Mark Anderson

Poppy Smith (Lost contact)

4. Minutes of the 2012 AGM

Minutes were proposed as good and true by Rod Smith and Peter Scott.

Matters arising from the last AGM:

It was proposed to arrange more events in Cornwall. This has not been achieved.

It was proposed to issue a questionnaire to members of the SWRG in order to gather information on preferred field trip type / location and preferred lecture topics and locations. This has not been achieved.

Burlington House is looking into assisting us with contacting members electronically.

5. Chair's Report - attached (Alan White (Acting Chair))

- a. AW commented on the events for the year. There were a total of 12 events over the year which had varied attendance. Several groups are looking to gauge a better understanding of the various reasons why so few members attend events. BH House are looking into creating a database or previous speakers. BH are looking into creating a Geolsoc email account
- b. Comments from members were invited: No comments or questions

6. Secretary's report – attached (Jonathan King)

- a. Membership current membership stands at 438 an increase of 67 from the reported 371 last year.
- b. Committee Ruth Easterbrook is standing down but will remain on the committee. Alan White has taken over the position of Chairperson. Malcolm Hart has offered to join the committee and stand in as Vice Chair.
- c. It was agreed that chartership issues would be given to the Secretary before being passed on to Alan White.
- d. Events Details of events were provided and the take up of these events was discussed.

- e. Large portion of budget has been spent on regional newsletter and ProGeo application form mail shot. Can the mail shot be replaced with electronic communication to save money? It was proposed to put this into practice next year.
- f. Peter Scott proposed more communication with other groups to prevent the clashing of events. It may even be possible to arrange joint meetings and events.

7. Treasurer's report attached (Henry Lister)

- a. A summary was provided indicating expenditure for 2012-2013 year.
- b. Grant received from Burlington House was £1500. SWRG will again apply for a grant of £1500 for the forthcoming year. In general the finances are currently healthy as long as Pro Geo is successful again.
- c. Can the group look at gathering sponsorship for young geoscientist award and schools prizes etc from other companies / organisations.

8. Web Editor's Report

a. The web editor (Gordon Neighbour) advised that training on editing the website had been offered but he was still unable to edit the page himself. More control should be gained post February 2014.

9. Committee membership & Officers of the SWRG

John Mather proposed a single vote for the published committee and Matthew Owen seconded them.

Departing:

Mark Anderson Danielle Pullen Tim New

Joining:

Malcolm Hart Neil Forrow

Continuing members:

Alan White (Chair)
Henry Lister (Treasurer)
Gordon Neighbour (Web Editor)
Phil Stephenson
Matthew Owen
Rod Smith
James Walker
Laurence Tomlin
Ruth Easterbrook
Sarah Boulton
Katie Cudmore (Potentially departing for University)
Penelope (Poppy) Smith

10. Open Forum discussion & AOB

AW thanked Dr John Grimes for his talk and the members for attending the AGM. Meeting closed at 9.30pm.

AGM Attendees 20th November 2013 (22 in total)

Alan White, Henry Lister, Jonathan King, Rod Smith, Mathew Owen, Gordon Neighbour, Lawrence Tomlin, Neil Forrow, Malcolm Hart, John Grimes, John Mather, Peter Scott, John Mather, Jenney Bennett, Phil Stevenson, Johnathan King, Simon Ruddleston, James Walker, Clive Nicholas, Ted Freshney.